Announcement:

A new anti-spam extension has been installed in this forum. If you have problem registering or login the forum, please do not hesitate to email the admin.

Contact Admin Click Here

Twice positive for H pylori , no relief after Bismuth-based quadruple therapy

After first line treatment, various "second line" treatments can be used. The policy for H.pylori is: Make sure the infection is real (breath test for follow-up). Always give a high dose of PPI (acid blocker) when using amoxicillin. In the second treatment, give a different drug in place of clarithromycin.

Moderators: Toni, barjammar, luci2010

VDE028
Genuine user

Twice positive for H pylori , no relief after Bismuth-based quadruple therapy

Post by VDE028 » Mon Mar 27, 2017 1:28 am

Hi All,

I am 33 year old health male living in Singapore since 2014 , having lived the rest of my life in India.
I have been fighting this H Pylori menace since August 2016.

Generally i have had never any digestive issues for the first 32 years of my life , in August 2016 I started having a lot of bloating and generally slow digestion. I thought it is what i am eating and tried to eat light for 2 weeks , however whatever i ate ( even a banana) gave me massive bloating tho the point where i looked 6 month pregnant.

1st week of September 2016 I visited the GP in Singapore who advised i need to eat less at night and gave me anti-acidity medicines. I went back to him after a week complaining the same , and he said he suspects a stomach infection and gave me Cipromixacilin 500 X 2 tabs a day for 10 days + antacids + pro-biotoc tablet. The medicines made me really sick , and i started having loose motions and nausea ! I went back to him , and he said its normal and should be fine in next 15 days. The bloating was gone but my digestion was a mess !